Sign in to follow this  
kitkats

H264 vs Sorenson3 vs FLV

I'm currently re-designing my website and I've decided to include clips of some whole projects as well as just the showreel again.

I want the video to be accessible to people who commission design, but not just in the design + broadcast industries, so there's a fair chance some visitors will be on Windows machines. Unfortunately I don't have any previous stats. I don't use Windows much... does Vista come with Quicktime now?

My old site used Sorenson3 which was easy for me to do and fairly accessible.

h264 is a lot nicer though and I'm thinking of using that now, but it requires QT7 I believe.

Arguably FLV is the best guarantee of playback on unknown PC's (bar MPEG1), but I have no experience with encoding/embedding it, and I think H264 looks nicer.

Any opinions? And don't say Cinepak.

im on a pc, of course i have qt but it´s just me, regular people out of mograph world maybe does not have quicktime.

i think the best decision is to make a flv (i´ve seen flv streaming really fast and with very good quality, use the flash video encoder to get fast results with little effort)

you can also put a link to download the movie in quicktime

the main reason i don´t like flv is that you can´t download the file and is a pain in the ass to scrub or watch the movie frame by frame

the main reason i don´t like flv is that you can´t download the file and is a pain in the ass to scrub or watch the movie frame by frame

Yeah, I think thats a real issue... I think its why I instinctively dislike FLV, even though it can look good as you say. I associate it with 'streaming' a la youtube, and awkward navigation jumping to a nearest keyframe etc.

Security isn't really an issue for me, but neither is download-ability. Clever people can download flv's anyway, and stupid ones can't download quicktimes sometimes. I just want them to playback, with scrubbability, on the page.

Guest Sao_Bento