Sign in to follow this  
JonBoy

Fundamentals of a Good MoGrapher?

Hey all,

New here. I'd be interested to know what fundamentals a really good motion graphics artist needs in order to kick ass I suppose.

I've been mo' graphing for the last couple of years (I'm actually working as a compositor at the moment but missing the sheer fun of motion graphics) but my background is lit./theatre and film. Now and then I get the feeling I'm missing some kind of theory behind what I'm doing (this is especially so when art directors start babbling to me :) ; at the moment I tend to work rather intrinsically.

Anyway, I figure there's a heap of design stuff that I should know but probably don't. Is all lost? :P

I figure in design fundamentals there's composition + layout, typography, colour theory, photography and being able to draw + ink. Huge holes here :o +

Software wise there's Photoshop, Illustrator, After Effects, one piece of compositing software, one piece of 3D software, and Flash+DreamWeaver (at least to get your reels on the web) to be learnt.

So it would be good if you could recommend books or some helpful tips like: keep practising! to help me out a bit

Cheers,

Jonboy.

if you put up some work in showcase you can probably get specific feedback on that. it's the only way to really improve as an artist. that, and keep force feeding yourself inspiration (books dvds movies etc)

there is no secret to doing well as a mographer. It's just about how much you kick your own ass to get better. The more obsessed you become with the job the more you'll learn in a short amount of time. You need some talent though and you need to be a good student. You need to be self-driven and know your goals.

it's easy to get burnt out though so don't overdo it, quit and become a lawyer.... at least not before the CD has stopped looking for partners.

Guest Sao_Bento