Sign in to follow this  
bibbadad

Sending work files?

Hi,

Love mograph and would appreciate expertise/advice here:

I've been doing DVD menu design for 8 years, and recently I've noticed the trend of bigger authoring houses asking for all work files associated with projects (AE, photoshop, supporting files, etc). I am not liking this trend because I hate to give over work files that can basically be used by another vendor for future work. In the past, if another vendor really demanded the files, I've just made dumbed-down versions of the files by flattening the animation into a movie and making the text editable.

I am about to finish a months long project for a really great, long-standing client. Thing is, they're using a big authoring house that has a spec sheet requiring all working files for the project, and they're seemingly unbending with their requirements.

Is it unreasonable to push back on sending any work files at all, using the defense that it's an intellectual property issue?

Are other people upset about handing over after effects files to other vendors? If so, what are people doing to not create possible antagonism with their clients?

I don't wanna shoot myself in the foot, but I also don't want to create a stink for my client who's been very good to me.

thanks!

I remember there being a pretty big thread here regarding this subject.

If you search for it, I'm sure you'll find the responses helpful, although there is a mix of opinions.

Overall, you'll notice the word "contract" used pretty often when talking about this :)

Did you have a contract with this client and what did you agree on prior to starting the work?

If you search for it, I'm sure you'll find the responses helpful, although there is a mix of opinions.

Overall, you'll notice the word "contract" used pretty often when talking about this :)

Did you have a contract with this client and what did you agree on prior to starting the work?