Sign in to follow this  
Guest dumbo

DVD Studio > HD DVD > Toshiba DVD player

Guest dumbo

So i'm moving into creating HD content, and would like to be able to author an HD DVD from DVD Studio Pro 4 and play it on a Toshiba SD-780KY HDMI DVD player.

I can make a HD project in DVDSP, and successfully play the DVD in my Mac Pro's DVD player software.

When i insert the same disc into the Toshiba DVD player (connected via HDMI cable to a Toshiba HD TV), it gives the message 'bad disc'.

The DVD player says it supports 1080i, so why won't it play the disc?

Im new to all this HD DVD format war stuff, so was wondering if...

1) anyone has authored HD discs through DVDSP that can play on a non-apple DVD player

2) or do i need to buy HD DVD discs

3) or buy blu-ray discs and burner?

4) wait for DVDSP to support bluray authoring

5) bury my head in the sand and just author SD projects?

I've done a fair bit of reading manuals, apple support, wikipedia etc but can't find a straight forward answer... :blink:

To answer you , yes i have authored HD DVD discs and yes it can be done with current build of DVDSP 4.x

Why i ask would you author to a dead format ?You might be getting bad disc because not all players for HD DVD can read info from a DVD5/9 that has been authored by DVDSP alot of players are picky about the media and the bit rate plays alot into this as well. If the player cant keep up to play the disc you get either bad disc error or it will just jump all over the palce.

HD DVD is dead they have halted all production and there is no commercial or viable delivery for this media anymore.

You can do Blu Ray authored discs now with CS3 (Encore) and FCP or another NLE that is current.

You just need a compression software like Compressor 3,Toast 8/9 and Encore a Blu Ray burner from Lacie,Panasonic,Sony etc and something to test it on like a PS3.