Sign in to follow this  
Dave_Navarro

Cinema 4D tutorials

I bought 3D Studio Max in college and I've been playing around a bit with it lately trying to learn how to use it. I'm finding it very difficult.

So, after viewing some of the stuff here, I decided to download the Cinema 4D demo and give it a try. DAMN! It just seems a lot easier to use and I've been able to do a few things with it that I could never figure out in 3DSM.

However, I'm still fairly new to all this 3D stuff, so I started looking for online tutorials and while I did manage to find a few here and there, I just can't seem to find much of anything for it. And trust me, I've visited all of the sites mentioned here, mentioned on the Maxon site and numerous other forums specific to C4D.

But I keep running into hundreds and hundreds of tutorials for 3DSM and maybe a couple hundred for C4D.

I was chatting with a friend of mine in Texas who uses C4D (and talked me into downloading the demo) and he told me that most people who use C4D are professionals that don't share their secrets. To share a secret is to give away a marketable advantage. Unlike 3DSM which has thousands of hobbyists that use it and are willing to share what they learn because they don't use it for professional work.

I did find a number of interesting looking "paid" tutorials, but I'm not that rich (yet). I'm gonna blow a big part of my software budget on C4D if I get it.

Basically, I'm trying to talk myself into buying it and the only thing holding me back at the moment is the lack of tutorials.

So, um... hmm... I guess I'm asking what I should do...? :)

Without posting which places you already tried, it's hard narrowing down new options. But to cover some basics:

cineversity.com

c4dcafe.com

3dfluff.com

c4dportal.com

3dattack.net (archives of their publication is a goldmine)

Dave,