Sign in to follow this  
Tigris67

Mac or PC? for Motion Graphics?

Hello, I'm a Senior attending SCAD at the moment and am planning on graduating in the summer of 09. I'm majoring in Broadcast Design and am using a 6 year old PC at the moment, getting ready to upgrade. I'm very comfortable with PC's but can use macs with ease as well, due to them being available in all the computer labs on campus. My reason for creating the thread though is that I plan on investing in a new computer but was unsure as to what I should get, a PC or a Mac? All my friends seem to have Macs who are in broadcasting and I was wondering is there is some advantage to them? The only thing I know is that a Mac with the same specs as a PC is significantly more in price but I've heard they're more stable and handle adobe products a bit smoother?

Can anyone give me a bit more insight on this?

dude, do a search and you will find that this subject has been discussed several times, since I already took the time to write that, then I will give you what I think, I can use both, but I am not very tech and somehow virus and other things do tend to go wrong more often on a pc, also, microsofts new operanting system seems to be lacking, I have some friends that just do not like it and are not really rushing to upgrade....there should be plenty more info if you do a search....but if you ask me, I would go with a mac, even if it's not the fastest I could afford.

The tool doesn't make the artist. Use whatever feels good for you.

edit: since you asked for specifics I'll go into that.

Mac vs PC: It doesn't matter nowadays. There is plenty of software for both systems. Personally I like using windows since it's affordable, stable and secure if you just get a free virus scanner.

Computing power: Big factor. The faster your machine is, the less you will notice it between you and your work. Here you will feel the price difference the most: Apple machines are much more expensive then Boxx or whatever ones.