Sign in to follow this  
Guest Sao_Bento

Quicktime h.264 gamma shift solutions

Good link, too bad it employs a third party codec to fix it though. The gamma stripper seems useful, but running it every time through Terminal may become cumbersome with real deadlines, etc. It seems like ProRes has this same problem too, which is unfortunate.

Guest Sao_Bento
just tried it. the export fails every time right from the beginning.

Oh well, I thought it might have been worth a shot.

Good link, too bad it employs a third party codec to fix it though.

The x264 codec is only needed for encoding, they resultant movies can be played back through the normal decompressor in Quicktime. I've had a couple of encodes failed but it's extremely rare, I've been using this method for a few months now and it's definitely easier than the trick with the transparency method.

Using x.264 really appears to be an elegant solution. Hurray for open source :P

Right now I think I would chose x.264 for either avi, mov or mkv. Could this be the end of the codec war?

anyway the article seems to have some incorrections:

«QuickTime movies re-exported from applications such has QuickTime Player Pro using the H.264 codec (a common format for web content) appear brighter than the original in some contexts [...] but not in other contexts such as QuickTime Player on Windows, or the stripped-down QT Player inside After Effects.»

1. At least the videos encoded on windows machines will show the gamma shift on quicktime player for windows.

2 GammaStripper from FuelVFX - it as been reported not to work. Never worked for me (I'm on Windows).

The x264 codec is only needed for encoding, they resultant movies can be played back through the normal decompressor in Quicktime. I've had a couple of encodes failed but it's extremely rare, I've been using this method for a few months now and it's definitely easier than the trick with the transparency method.