Sign in to follow this  
nog

Design -> Animation workflow in a big mograph studio

I'm a web designer and have done some motion graphics work for the web and a couple of broadcast things but strictly one-man stuff. I'm curious what the workflow is like in a motion graphics studio that uses bigger teams. A lot of my questions have to do with seeing this guy's comps http://www.nathanielhowe.com/

First of all, where do the assets generally come from when photographic material or live action footage is used? I would imagine you just comp things using FPO stock images but his comps look so polished and finished. Do you do rough comps before the shoot, then revise them with the final footage afterwords? Does a motion graphics shop ever put together a shoot in-house in the pitch stage just to have stuff to use in comps? Does a director or agency ever come to a studio with the live action footage already shot or is the mograph art director usually involved before and during the shoot?

Also, how much comping work is done directly in After Effects or in 3D? If you have a concept that relies on 3D, does the art director work together with a 3D artist during the comping stage, or do most of the designers do their own 3D work? Or do people do a lot of fake 3D work in photoshop just to get the idea out there? Is there a lot of back and forth between AE and photoshop, say if you want to add some little particle effect or something? Or do you mostly tend to pull pre-existing elements out of old projects to add things like particle effects, lens flares, 3D strokes, etc? Does anyone do their comps start to finish entirely in AE?