Sign in to follow this  
jasfish

3D Workflow

Okay, this may be obvious, but since I'm self-taught in C4D .. it's not to me :)

How do you handle fairly complex scenes?

I'm fine if it's a single move or moving between multiple cams (I use SteadyCamPro).

But what do you do if you've got lots of different angles/scenes?

Are you saving multiple projects, rendering out different cams constantly?

As things get more complicated .. I keep turning on and off layers, adding cameras, doing multiple renders.

It seems a little clunky and I'm looking for any advice long-time users can give me.

I come from an AE background if that matters.

Okay, this may be obvious, but since I'm self-taught in C4D .. it's not to me :)

I'm fine if it's a single move or moving between multiple cams (I use SteadyCamPro).

But what do you do if you've got lots of different angles/scenes?

Are you saving multiple projects, rendering out different cams constantly?

As things get more complicated .. I keep turning on and off layers, adding cameras, doing multiple renders.

It seems a little clunky and I'm looking for any advice long-time users can give me.

taketool

I keep turning on and off layers, adding cameras, doing multiple renders.

The other posters have great answers... I'll go ahead and describe my low-rent ghetto method anyway. It's dorky and obvious...

I had a handful of scenes in Lightwave. To do overnight (and eventually, week-long) renders, I strung all the scenes end to end, with snap-camera-moves between them, sometimes over to a completely different "stage". There's reasons not to do that, like, wasted geometry on the stage next door. But it was handy at the time. My AE project had the imported movie cut at the right points, so rerender-and-go.