Sign in to follow this  
chizmniz

Built a new Computer

So after hours and hours of reading I finally bought and put together my very first computer. I pretty much copied a system I saw on here so thanks to everyone posting up about there systems on this forum. Anyway I got it all together and here it is:

intel i7 920

asus p6t deluxe v2

2 x 3 corsair dominator

evga gtx 280

and for the heat sink I got the thermalright ultra 120 extreme. Now here is my question. I put the heat sink on and its freaking huge lol and its actually so big that it covers one of my ram slots and, as far as I know, I have to run 2 sticks min of ram and its preferable to run in sets of three. So if I wanted to upgrade, is the only option I have to just upgrade the three sticks I have to bigger ones? I would love to hear if anyone has figured out how to use all 6 ram slots on the asus board with the thermalright heatsink.

Now I am a total computer tech newb so building this was very entertaining and probably took me 10 times longer than most would have taken. The only other problem I am having is getting AE CS3 to enable opengl. I have ran through all the prefs in AE to enable it but it tells me that I might need to upgrade some drivers or something. I have d/l all the drivers from evga and I even tried nvidia. But still no luck with AE. I do not know anything about opengl and would love to get some light shed on this. Any help would be awesome.

Thanks in advance!

-Awesome! Building your own computer is super fun, just dont let it get addicting. Once you've done it...its super easy to do it again.

-Hmmm...I think that heatsink might be a problem in the future. You will probably want to get 12gb or more once the prices drop. I think sticks of 3 run better under some circumstance I cant remember...Are you overclocking? Do you need that super duper heatsink?