Sign in to follow this  
destro

Directing book recommendations please

I'm looking for book recommendations.

I use mostly After Effects and Cinema 4D. A couple of bits of my work are here: http://www.vimeo.com/user970565

I'm self taught. Learning for me was playing around to see what looks good and studying the reels of people whose work I liked. What I want now is some of the fundamental concepts.

I only do computer graphics, no shooting with real cams (although I would like to play around with that in the future). What I'm after is a book on directing I guess. Here are some of the things I want fundamental concepts on:

-how to compose shots

-how and when to do cuts so they make sence to the viewer

-ways to seperate foreground and background objects

-standard lighting setups for common situations

I'm not sure if I need a computer based book or if these things apply regardless of the medium.

Sorry for my wooly request. I hoping someone can figure out what I'm asking for.

Edited by destro

Focused more on editing than the other aspects of filmmaking, but still for me one of the best people at talking about the creative process of filmmaking in interesting way is Walter Murch you should check out his book In The Blink of an Eye and also The Conversations a book where he is interviewed by Michael Ondatje. I also recomend Hitchcock Truffaut which is a discussion between the two filmmakers about directing.

I know these titles might seem an odd choice as recommendations for people doing motion graphics, and working mostly on the computer but really when it comes to the basics of filmmaking you can't go wrong with the masters and most of the concepts translate.

Anyhow even if I am totally missing the point of what you are after these are all good reads anyhow if you are into film.

Funny, was just in the bookstore looking at these books. Simple and kind of for the novice, but nice breakdown of the basic approaches to composing a shot.

Setting Up Your Shots