Sign in to follow this  
jayson mark

Wise to head to LA without job?

I am a motion graphics designer with 5 years of experience and a moderately awesome reel. (thanks to my employer... we don't do cool, we do quick). Would going to LA without a job be a good idea? What kind of struggle am i looking at in LA? Are there still jobs for designers who don't have kick ass reels? Has anyone taken this leap of faith? What kid of savings should I be having in order to survive in LA, 5K, 10K, 20+K?

Just curious to know other people's experience of moving to LA without a job.

I moved out here 4 years ago with 2k in pocket and no job. But I was couch surfing for about 6 months while trying to find work.

Once your here, visit the Motion Design Directory and go from there.

Hey thanks Aroma. about the directory... don't companies hate it if you give them cold calls or end up on their door steps?? 6 months 4 years ago eh? when economy was good...and now??? phew :blink: .

Thanks for the info man.!!

This is pretty much what I did. I had one week of work lined up, but that's all. A lot of companies seemed put off by me looking for work before being in LA, so I just said screw it. Ended up going staff for the company that gave me that first week.

Everyone seems completely rocking with work right now, from what I'm hearing, so if you're gonna do it do it soon.

Everyone seems completely rocking with work right now, from what I'm hearing, so if you're gonna do it do it soon.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: Thats quite encouraging. thanks man. Its good to know bad economy has not resulted in exhodus from LA.

Edited by jayson mark

don't companies hate it if you give them cold calls or end up on their door steps??