Sign in to follow this  
chj

New Motion Graphics Showreel

So I've been watching Greyscale Gorilla's tutorial critique blog, hopefully this will take the sting out!

What's your background? Are you a student looking to get work or self-taught? I only ask because a lot of this is still quite raw. You can definitely improve on your camera work (it's very start-stop, not particularly natural), animation and typography.

The good - I liked the AIDS thing (nice colour work and design, animation..not so much), the DNA profile (again good design and animation) and Clutter Knot (which was head and shoulders above the rest, I think it was the lack of robo-cam!) - lots of good attention to detail.

And these sections looked original too.

The bad - There were too many tutorials in there. I've seen that sketched line tut, and the 3D door before. And as a skateboarder, Skatepro was probably the most patronising advert/design I've ever seen, and that includes those cringeworthy SunnyD adverts.. you didn't have anything in there which I associated with skateboarding! The lighting, texturing and composition on the white space bit really needs work. It was very computery. I didn't understand the significance of the frog (or why it Form-disintegrated) in the "your planet needs you" bit. Finally your end sting should have impact. It didn't look like you'd put an awful lot of thought into it, and worst of all your site URL was difficult to read.