Sign in to follow this  
vozzz

Why are you a freelancer?

Hi,

My name's Aleksey and i'm a Freelancer :)

because:

- I don't like to turn up anywhere before mid-day

- I don't like to be told what and when to do without getting paid for what i'm doing

- I like everything i;m told to do to have a price tag on it

- I like to be able to go wherever i want whenever i want, only sacrificing the money i would've earnt by working for that time. ( ie not getting fired for going to the beach )

- I don't like to work 8 hours a day.

- I like my pay to increase exactly as fast as my skills.

- I like it when the people telling me what to do are the same people who decide how much money i get.

- I like to be judged by what i do, not by what a piece of paper says.

I think that covers the main points.

Edited by vozzz

Hi,

My name's Aleksey

Not to hijack the thread, but interesting that you moved to Australia from "Mother Russia"

I'm from Kiev originally btw :)

well put man, all those reasons for me plus its nice to get paid well enough to then take chunks of time to R&D or do personal work or chill. also, now I have my girl through school so its even more chill to not need to bring home the health insurane

Prived =D Hochesh pomoch mne k vam pere-iehat'?

Just to clarify, this is an branch off the "Freelancers Union", where someone was talking about the benefit of labour unions and how it would be nice to have one or something. But i'm generally a strong oposer of unions. And someone questioned me when i said i became a freelancer to work less hours, so i decided to make a thread to see why people became freelancers.

I'm a freelancer because I like donating money to Adobe when they hike their UK prices during the worst recession in recorded history.

Oh, and I like a coffee with my wife in the morning.

I love being a freelancer, I love working at dozens of shops and meeting new people from all walks of life. I love being able to take 3 months vacations.