Sign in to follow this  
deepsky

Questioning self taught AE artist's rates

I'm curious what the mograph studios (production managers) are dealing with paying some young freelancers asking hourly rates. I'm pretty surprised on the growing amount of young motion artists sending in their reel and it's full of Video CoPilot graphics. This topic may be touchy for some of you, but keep in mind I see a good designer and a good animator aren't easy to find available and of course should be paid well. Lately I'm seeing more and more self taught artists (all through Video CoPilot) learning from home over a year and maybe have worked on several paying projects and are asking 50 pr hr., I find this misleading to studios and unfair to graduates who have spent 2-4 years and a lot of money for their degree to work in this field. In some cases these self taught newbies are working a fulltime job making maybe 15 pr hr. To be clear I'm not bashing or saying self starters shouldn't be paid well, not at all, but I do feel I should hire someone who went to school for motion graphics (digital media, whatever your degree was called). Now I don't want us to be talking about pay rate here, I just like to get your opinion (PM's, graduates, newbies, etc) how you feel about the growing rate of self taught AE artists, studios that hire them and what if the average hourly rate still applies...

Personally I don't bring on self taught AE artists. I don't feel it's fair to all the other talented graduates that apply, as well as our team of artist's who spent years to get their foot in the door and rely on someone working with them to know more than just After Effects. Besides just using the AE application, I take into account other skills, understanding/having studied animation, design, entertainment business and law, etc.

Edited by deepsky