Sign in to follow this  
MiraclePixel

Questions to ask potential clients

Hi, I'm a newbie here.... I am fairly new in the world of motion graphics. I have a potential client who want a motion design package for an upcoming show which includes: main title, bumpers, lower3rds, ending titles and other graphical elements. What should I look for being it's my first real project? and What questions should I ask before taking on this project?

Hey there... About a year and a half ago I was in the same position with a freelance job. Before you start you definitely want to fiugre out contracts (always a must), set milestone markers in time for delivery of each individual element and then the final package, set number of client revisions, payment-- make sure to get some upfront on a major project like this. Also if they have not given you design to work from, then set a schedule of concept and style boards with dates and numbers of revisions. You also need to figure out how the elements will be delivered. It may sound insignificant now, but is it full HD or HD design with 4:3 center cut.... or it is quicktimes or HDCam (which you need a deck to layoff to tape) or is it AE projects for them to version. Personally I like to deliver Quicktimes or HDCam for main title, show open, end title... and then provide AE files for L3rds and bumps (with as many flattened QT layers as possible). That is all I can think of for now, but hit me up with whatever questions you have.

PS.... Contracts, contracts and payment schedules !!!