Sign in to follow this  
ciaran

Change RAM allocation in C4D?

I'm new to Cinema 4D and have run into a major problem with rendering out a basic 150 frame, HD animation consisting of text in a sweep nurbs, a cube, cylinder, torus, plane & sky (has HDRI map) with an animated camera. The materials have fresnel reflections and I'm using global illumination, so I'm expecting long render times. The thing is that the first half of the animation was rendering a frame every 5 minutes or so, but then suddenly cranked up to 3 hours a frame. I've sinced doubled my RAM and the renders are now taking 6 hours per frame, without any notable change in the scene.

I've set the GI rendering as camera animation, turned down many of the IR settings to low, anti aliasing set to best/animation, no motion blur, cache shadow maps, set the Picture Viewer ram usage to 10Gb, etc., yet in the task manager, it says C4D 64bit is only using 1Gb of RAM, with 3Gb in use by the PC overall and that there's 9Gb available.

Is it possible to change the allocation of RAM to C4D as you would in After Effects? Anything else I can do to render faster?

Running c4D 11.5, Win 7, i7 2.66Hz processor, 12Gb RAM, Nvidia Geforce 7900 GS graphics card.

adding more ram is not going to speed up your render...it will help you handle more data in the scene...but the only thing that will speed up your render is more cpu power and scene/material optimization.

maybe try posting some shots of your settings or materials...something like that.

the only thing i can think of is you might have some process kicking in in the background. Otherwise if your scene remains constent i don't see what could cause this.

try rendering it out without Gi and see what the difference is in render times for the frames in question.

but best solution is post the file up and let us have a look at it.