Sign in to follow this  
Atom

Extrusion From Alpha Video In C4D

Hi All,

Sorry if this has been asked before, but I am new to C4D.

I have a project that supplied a series of animated people walking, silhouettes. These silhouette videos have an alpha channel, but I am wondering if it is possible to create an extrusion from the video so I have actual geometry in my scene, instead of an image mapped plane?

Thanks

You will never be able to extrude silhouettes from flat planes and make them look convincingly like "3D people".

You can however feed an image sequence through a Vectorizer to create a spline, which can then be extruded.

-m

I know I can live trace an image sequence using Bridge, but will C4D honor an .AI sequence? Or is there a script that will take a series of AI files and create some kind of animated spline that I could then extrude?

I know I can live trace an image sequence using Bridge, but will C4D honor an .AI sequence? Or is there a script that will take a series of AI files and create some kind of animated spline that I could then extrude?

You're not hearing me.

C4D > Help > Vectorizer

-m

You're not hearing me.

C4D > Help > Vectorizer

-m

I've also gotten results using the relief object with a high contrast source image sequence and a masking material with transparency. This is useful if you don't want splines, just geometry with some grays for falloff.

also, "Help" is next to "Window" :D

c

Edited by Colin@movecraft

Hmm...

It looks like Vectorize will do a single frame, but I need an animated sequence. I tried an image sequence that works with After Effects but Vectorize did not display anything except a rectangle in the aspect ratio of a single image.

I tried supplying a single quicktime.mov with alpha to Vectorize and got nothing (or perhaps only the first frame which is blank).

Is there some clever way to make Vectorize process a sequence? The help for Vectorize is like 2 lines long.