Sign in to follow this  
Edsel

Any beginners around here?

I was just wondering if there are any new motion graphic designers around here. I'm calling out those who are in their 30's and not young turks who still have so much ahead of them.

So many new thing's have happened the past year for me. Immigrating to Canada , newly married and now considering a different career path which is of course motion design. I just turned 35 and seriously want to start a career in motion design. Of course aside from the excitement that I know I can excel in this field , this is also coupled with fear because I feel like an old dog trying to catch up with veterans and individuals who have strong media backgrounds.

I have no experience in media at all except for my familiarity with adobe photoshop ( to make my pictures look good ) and adobe premiere ( to document my travels ). Aside from that, my only ammunition to jumpstart this new venture is my drive to excel and the numerous possibilities that I can create with motion design.

So is anybody here on the same boat as I am?

Not quite in the same boat as you but I share your fear! As long as you're prepared to put in the work then there should be no problem. Word of advice - brush up on your fine art/design skills before going mental with AE or a 3D application.

Good luck!

Dan

I feel your pain bro; I've the same fear. I've invested quite a bit of time learning,

and I too at times fear I need to hurry up & get "in".

That being said a few things come to mind, and I hope I not to far off the mark.

Originality and top shelf execution trumps all.

A good grounding in graphic design/illustration principles might help there.

Being able to communicate (on command) via the hard wired receptivity of the brain to design gestalt is awesome!

(see Ramachandran on "The Science of Art")

Deconstructing pieces you like & ARTICULATING why you like them, is a good way to develop your design sense,