Sign in to follow this  
Adam Farnsworth

First Work Horse MacPro

Hello, I've been designing on iMacs for the last four years, doing a mix of After Effects motion work, web and print work. Within the last year, I've transferred into more motion work and added C4D to my toolset. I'm also an independent filmmaker, and would be using the machine for video editing as well. I've been setting money aside and am ready to purchase my first workhorse MacPro, but I'd love some feedback from the community.

I have a budget of $5700 (not including tax), and I want to get the most powerful machine possible to last for as long as possible. I currently have a 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo iMac with 4 GB of RAM and the standard graphics card, so I'll still be able to use it for most After Effects work, small C4D jobs and the print work. I'm currently looking at a 12-core machine, but just the box is going to blow $5000 of it. I've been scouring the internet for comparison reviews of the ATI Radeon HD 5770 and 5870, but most are gaming related (eg: MacPro Application Performance). I found these two: REAL WORLD EXTREME APPS on various 2010 Mac Pros and EARLY BENCHMARKS: 2010 Mac Pro versus others, but beyond that, not much. I especially am interested in two 5770s versus one 5870. Any info here would be much appreciated. I'm also interested in how much RAM comes into play. On my iMac, I never tapped the full 4GB due to my processor and graphics card not keeping up. Is there a good formula or rule of thumb that helps understand what that balance should be? I don't want to get 12-cores and 32GB of RAM only to be held back by the 5870.