Sign in to follow this  
dmxlighter

Future MG Designer - I need Advice!

Hi all, Future Mo designer here.

I’m looking to peruse a career in Motion Design but I’d really like some input from people working as fulltime motion designers.

First a little about me,

I starting using AutoCAD at the age of 10, and was proficient with Photoshop and Premier by high school. I do some freelance set & lighting design in the Tampa Bay area, and have a good bit experience in the realm of live entertainment production. I’ve been playing with AE for about 2 years and found that I really enjoy creating digital content - So much so that I’m seriously considering it as a career.

So my questions are….

Where should I go to get a degree? (I live in Tampa Florida, and would like to stay in state for scholarship reasons. The only local school I’m aware of is Full Sail)

Is the university I choose really important?

How much can I really expect to make as a motion designer? (considering what my degree will cost)

How easy or hard is it to come by work?

Is there any hope of doing this in Tampa or even Florida, or do I pretty much have to move to LA?

Should I first seek a degree in graphic design?

Are there enough jobs to support new motion designers?

Does anyone know a local motion designer here in Tampa I could talk with?

Hope this isn’t too many questions; I’d appreciate any advice you all have to offer.

There have been a few posts like this, it usually boils down to 'focus on learning design, software comes and goes'. Who knows what motion gfx will be in 5 years time? The fundamentals of good design will last you a lifetime though.

I've heard of a place called the Screen Engine in Tampa. They do motion graphics. I think there is a decent amount of stuff going on in Orlando. You should check out this topic: http://mograph.net/board/index.php?showtopic=24207