Sign in to follow this  
joedonaldson

What to look for and negotiate for in an interview

Hello fellow mographians,

I recently relocated to Chicago and this upcoming Monday I have an interview for a FCP editors position at a local studio. I am pretty new to the game and wanted to see if any of you had any advice on what to look for during the interview, questions to ask and what to negotiate for? It is a mid level studio and I definitely feel that I can hit the ground running and make some awesome work.

I am a student so if everything works out will be looking to work part-time, anywhere between 24-30 hours a week.

Thanks in advance.

Don't ask too many questions. It only makes you look like you don't know much, driving down your value. Ask what their client base is / what type of spots they create there, let them know that you really want to get your hands dirty, and thats about it. Other than that, focus on answering their questions.

Don't be the first the throw out a number, but don't negotiate hard either. You don't have much leverage and everyone knows that your there mainly for the learning experience and they brought in a student for cheap help. Just make sure that you don't accept a rate that won't keep you fed and sheltered.

Try to refrain from talking about your current status as a student as much as possible. Of course it will be brought up, but don't say things like "oh yeah, we learned about that just last week in class"... That looks bad.

Confidence is key. Don't make it sound like you don't know a thing and your trying to learn on their dime. But don't try to prove yourself either, as you will inevitably say something incorrect or so basic that it will leave them wondering why you think what you said is bragging rights rather than industry common sense (no offense, we've all been there). Just shut up, be happy, be their friend, and you will be fine.

Good luck and let us know how it went! biggrin.gif

Edited by AromaKat