Sign in to follow this  
shapirog

Working in France

Hi,

I'm a motion graphics artist and I'd like to move to France in the next year, specifically Paris. I was wondering if anyone here works in France and could give me some advice of how to get over there or tell me a bit about what it's like working there / trying to find work there. Thanks!

Hi,

I'm a motion graphics artist and I'd like to move to France in the next year, specifically Paris. I was wondering if anyone here works in France and could give me some advice of how to get over there or tell me a bit about what it's like working there / trying to find work there. Thanks!

France is not very "freelance" friendly. I used to run a business there and hiring a freelancer typically cost me about 100% of their fee in taxes. The reason is that people who work in the entertainement business are given the benefit of unemployment money to the height of 100% of their average wages when they don't work....The rationale is that if the state does not help creatives, they will lose their independence. Not a bad point, but very business unfriendly....

Getting paperwork to work in France will also be a challenge, unless you have a european passport.

Now if you have huge talent and great contacts/reel, you will most likely get over these problems pretty easily.

Good luck!

Alex

Frig. As a job looker this seems rad and blow's my reel away. Maybe I'll go for something in Easter Island then. Wave some branches around and make motion shade shapes happen. Otherwise . . fuck!

Back to the drawing board.

Nice piece dude. All I can say is hope you can say "Voolay Voo Coo Che Avec Moi" and babes dig it. Hump a broad for every keyframe you lay in France and tell us about it!

New Thread - Sex Stories from Motion Rock'ers - Might top the lounge shuffle. lol

. . . . oh boy, this was a boozy post folks. . . deet! . . . NEAT!

Edited by Hamilton

yeah cool reel man, i enjoyed it.