Sign in to follow this  
Biederbeck

From Print - To Motion

So. I am a new designer, (3 years). I am newer to motion (16 months AE, 4 months C4D).

It is pretty easy to find theory about general design (type, color layout etc.) and I feel as though I have a pretty good handle on this.

But... In regards to motion, all I find are tutorials for recreating other people's work. I am having extreme difficulty finding topics about transition, and paceing in my projects (obviously some of the most crucial aspects to motion).

Can anyone direct me to a site, or give insight into these two areas, of motion graphics theory?

Or, am I missing the mark altogether... for instance: should I be looking at it more from an editor's standpoint, a camera-man's standpoint, and study up on those areas of the industry?

Any ideas would be greatly appreciate.

PS. I am using c4d and AE.

Guest Sao_Bento

You really want to look at film editing unless you are doing character animation, in which case, the Disney stuff is great. The Blink of an Eye, by Walter Murch is a pretty good one.

http://www.amazon.com/Blink-Eye-Revised-2nd/dp/1879505622/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1300933124&sr=1-2

I think I used to tell people to read Film Sense or The FIlm Form by Eisenstein, but a lot of people find them outdated and hard to get through.

The first step is to become aware of the editing you see every-time you watch a movie. Then start to think about how that shapes the story. In motion graphics, you're doing the same thing, just with different elements - setting a tone, creating tension and release, and usually telling some sort of a story. Think of yourself as a film director whose working from a broader palette than just photography, but the approaches are very similar. What kind of motion is appropriate for what you're trying to communicate?