Sign in to follow this  
secretninja

Student reel, please critique

for a recent graduate i think its pretty good. A lot of the work though looks like school work and I think you should try and take that out if possible. Doing some personal projects in your free time would be a much better route to take since it at least shows you're capable of conceptualizing a project from start to finish on your own. It also shows youre passionate enough to do this stuff for fun in your free time, AND your work wont be compared to the actual UFC/speed branding thats already out there (and very, very good). Also, the reel ends a little abruptly so I'd work on cleaning that up.

Other than that, I like the reel. It's short and sweet and has pretty good pacing imo. I think you could land a solid internship with this but dont know about landing big gigs as long as there's student work there. Maybe its just my opinion but to me student work is sort of a red flag saying "Im new to this, go easy on me!" Not saying the talent isnt there but you just gotta take some time and build up some other work to showcase. hope that helped!

Hey Dan, y'know making the transition from print design to motion design is a hard one. It's a good path to take, but it's a long process because there's deceptively little overlap between the two disciplines. I started in print, and it's been a long, and still ongoing, journey to get up to speed in what is essentially a filmmaking medium. But that's sort of how you have to start treating it. Motion design isn't typically that successful when it's treated like animated print design on top of footage (although there's plenty of that out there).