Sign in to follow this  
ctarroza

Best Toronto Studios

I'm looking for some of the best motion graphics/post-houses in Toronto. I currently work as an in-house video editor and motion designer at an agency which is in a great area and has great staff but there are a few concerning things...

1) At the moment (middle of summer) it is DEAD. And when I mean dead, I mean I have nothing to do, no projects to work on whatsoever. For the past 2 or 3 weeks, I've been playing around with After Effects and watching a bunch of stuff on lynda. When I was first hired, there was a steady stream of work and it picked up pretty well. It could be that it's just a low point in the industry but as far as I know, there aren't any upcoming projects that I know of in the near future. The print and web guys are also not as busy but they still have work to do daily. Boredom is my worst enemy, I'd rather be packed to the brim with work than nothing at all...

2) Continuing on from the above comment, I wouldn't be surprised if they were to let me go. In the event that happens, I'd like to have a backup plan to pay the bills.

3) Minus the current boredom, this is a great place to work when I actually have work to do. One of the slight issues, however, is that I'm the only video guy in the company. This is my second job out of school and I'll admit that I am far, far, far from the best. There is much I need to learn and experience and it's kind of tough when I'm the only guy here who knows how to work After Effects. I want to be surrounded by people who can kick my butt at motion design, where I can learn more and make some really cool stuff.

I want to ask the head-honchos of the company if there are any upcoming projects, but I fear that if they say there isn't any, they will realize that I have no use here and send me off.