My first impression: three minutes?

Don't cut it in half, cut it by 2/3. The point of a reel isn't to show everything you've ever done, it's to cherry-pick the absolute best stuff you've worked on. Focus on that and nothing else. If the result is 30 seconds, so be it -- it'll still put you in a much better light than three minutes of mediocrity. You might be a decent motion designer, but it's so hard to tell when the reel is so padded.

(as an aside, I'd highly recommend ditching the "lynda.com training certificates" from your site, as well as "Proficient in both Mac and PC Environments" -- to me, these both just read "I'm a beginner")

When it comes to the mediocrity, I totally get what you're saying. Unfortunately, the company I work for now has such insanely fast deadlines (one day, 6 hours, 3 hours) I feel like so much of my work comes out just OK. I'm in the process of trying to weed out this "padding," but sometimes I cut stuff out that other people like and I leave stuff in that other people hate.

Thanks for the advice on "Lynda" and "Mac and PC Environments." This one is an easy fix and I totally agree with you.

When it comes to the mediocrity, I totally get what you're saying. Unfortunately, the company I work for now has such insanely fast deadlines (one day, 6 hours, 3 hours) I feel like so much of my work comes out just OK. I'm in the process of trying to weed out this "padding," but sometimes I cut stuff out that other people like and I leave stuff in that other people hate.

Thanks for the advice on "Lynda" and "Mac and PC Environments." This one is an easy fix and I totally agree with you.

Hi Joel,