Sign in to follow this  
Zickar

Moving to the states

I'm a motion graphics artist currently employed at a regional TV Network ... I Have about 4 years of experience and broke into the freelancing scene last year working on some regional shows . I live in Lebanon and hoping to make it to next year's NAB during which I will be trying to make some contacts and possible make some interviews for some openings or maybe some actual jobs in the states in the hope of actually working there ...

I'm 27 years old and I just want to know how realistic is this plan ? How possible is this to fruit ? Is a 27 year old trying to break into the mograph scene of the states possible ? What should I do in the time being up until next April ? I will be working on my reel , on more material nad possible some promotional stuff . What do you think about all of this .

All I can say is that anything is possible and good luck to you.

I do have some words of advice, but also perhaps questions for anyone on this board that might have answers.

Since you are a foreigner coming to work in the US look into a work visa, from my understanding (from friends who are not US citizens working here) work visas are a pain in the ass. On top of that, and this is the one question i would pose to foreign workers in the US, I have heard that if you work in the US, you are to pay 15% of your check to the US government on top of the taxes that is usually tacked onto paychecks.

I'm not trying to scare you with this, but this is something you should look into or perhaps someone here might be able to elaborate on.

By the way, you're 27, young with already 4 years under your belt, i'm sure you'll do fine.