Sign in to follow this  
_gl

Mograph: Everything looks better in my head

So, I have a confession to make. I struggle with mograph.

I have spent many years dabbling (started using AE at version 3) and attempting to develop myself in motion graphics and have found that I don't quite 'get it'. I am a graphic designer so, I understand principles of design. I know how to setup a shot (photographer and videographer). I just find that I hit a wall with putting an idea in motion. I have had a number of clients come to me for intros or other pieces and I feel like my ideas and the results are limited. A large part of it is translating what's in my head into reality. I may go too quickly from sketching to the computer but, even then, I feel like I struggle to use the digital tools to make what I see in my head.

Has anyone hit this wall? What did you do to overcome it? I really want to get past this and bridge this gap. Any ideas would be appreciated.

-gl

You might want to put up some of your mograph work so people can get a sense of what you're skill level is.

Your site only seems to have a couple of websites and a poster.

So I'm not sure exactly what the issue is. Is it that you have a hard time executing ideas? Meaning to me that your issue is primarily technical, or is it that you have a hard time finding the right inspiration for a given piece? I'm willing to bet that everyone here has either or both issues on a regular basis. Both are frustrating but the technical end of things is ultimately easier as it's really just a matter of solving a maze, you already know where you are going so it's just a matter of getting there. This site and a variety of others are fantastic resources.