Sign in to follow this  
flappymouse

Advice: Motion Graphics

Hey guys,

I am very new to this, hence I am just going to put it out there..

I am doing a course in VFX and 3D animation, which includes maya, nuke, boujou, after effects (keying, roto, tracking etc) but not many plug-ins usage... Optical flares, Trapcode is stuff i learnt on my own.. Now my course is coming to an end and they have recently introduced motion graphics as a 3 month course for an additional amount to be paid.. I am still in the making of my demo reel though just with the knowledge of keying and tracking I wouldn't land a job I want...

My main concern is do I need to do this course to learn motion graphics... or will I be able to learn cinema 4D and other tools by myself...? I mean, I do not have a starter point... Also what other plug-ins do I need to go through to learn motion graphics and where do I start from?

Secondly, What kind of a job am I looking at if I want to work majorly with motion graphics?

Any advice or guidance is welcome... I hope you guys can help me out here...

Thanks,

Saaniya

Edited by flappymouse

I'm not going to advocate NOT learning anything. However, I think you may be leaning way too heavily on software fundamentals and not the dicipline of story and design which is really what a motion graphics artist is.

A person that excels in motion and design can learn 10 minutes of After Effects and make jaw-dropping work. Conversely, a person that knows software in and out but has no skills in design or story will only add to the background noise of "me too!" stuff on YouTube. Or simply relegate themselves to button-pusher.

To have BOTH skill sets is of course fantastic. But it sounds from your post you may be equating skill of software with skill of being an artist. And the 2 are totally different.

Should you take the motion graphics class? I guess so. Do they teach you the art of design and story? Then sure.