Sign in to follow this  
florio

Mac Pro life questions

Hey Guys and Girls,

I've been running my 1st gen 8 core Mac Pro for a little over 5 years and even though I love my machine I think it's finally hitting the end of it's life.

So my questions are: generally how long can these machines last? I've been a mograph artist for the last 6 years so that machine has taken a beating from long renders and extensive travel to and from set. I can only imagine that it's hitting the end of it's mograph days.

Also I'm not sure if this is normal or I never really noticed it but my machine runs really hot (like 120 degrees easy) ... any thoughts on that?

I have noticed a drop in performance but thats to be expected for wear and tear I guess

Thanks in advance guys

~Florio

my machine runs really hot (like 120 degrees easy)

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, CLEAN OUT YOUR FANS. At that temp, your computer is headed to a fiery grave.

Mac Pros tend to hold up quite well. I still have a G5 that's in tip-top shape. Apple goes out of their way to use server-grade stuff in the Pros, so failures tend to be few and far in-between.

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, CLEAN OUT YOUR FANS.

My fans are actually clean ... it just gets stupid hot really fast

but I think I can make this badboy last until a new mac pro comes out or I finally just break down and build a stupid fast pc

Thanks

~Florio

Maybe there are processes running in the background that are using your CPU all the time.

Open Activity Monitor & sort by CPU% to check your processes:

Mac HD> Utilities >Activity Monitor

Also, open Console to see what your system is doing (under All Messages).

Mac HD> Utilities > Console

Also, run one of these free Antivirus apps:

Bitdefender http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/bitdefender-virus-scanner/id500154009?mt=12

ClamXav http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/clamxav/id430207028?mt=12

iAntivirus http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/iantivirus/id523947195?mt=12

Edited by mario5