Sign in to follow this  
ewatk

Opening a studio

I have recently begun thinking about starting my own studio along with a producer friend of mine. I have been a freelancer for a good long time now (7 years) and feel that the time is right to go to the next level. Problem is its obviously my first time and much like many first times, Im clueless, nervous, and completely inexperienced. So I would love to hear from people who have started their own studios or have knowledge of it, what are the pitfalls, things to look out for, first steps, etc, etc.

In somewhat of an order, the hurdles you will need to jump through before you even pick up a wacom as a new company:

• Lawyer / Accountant
  • The deal between you and your business partner in writing (by the above lawyer)
  • Incorporation (Fed, State, & City)
  • Clients you can start working for from the get-go
  • A marketing budget / planned initiative that your producer friend can field prospective clients with (spec works, etc)
  • Infrastructure (ie. new office, computers, network, supplies, etc)
  • Development of a solid brand - takes time, costs $ for site, reel, slate animations, etc etc etc
  • A really healthy chunk of change left after everything above is in order (I'd advise at least 30k - reserved strictly for business, no take-home) to cover costs of operations until checks start coming in 30-90 days after you finish your first job
  • Taxes

Just be prepared before you start. If you start telling prospective clients you are a company, you damn well better look and act the part or risk losing their respect forever.

Edited by AromaKat

In somewhat of an order, the hurdles you will need to jump through before you even pick up a wacom as a new company:

• Lawyer / Accountant
  • The deal between you and your business partner in writing (by the above lawyer)
  • Incorporation (Fed, State, & City)
  • Clients you can start working for from the get-go