Sign in to follow this  
dylan

Working in San Fransisco

I would love to relocate to the area but have no experience of it. I'm not sure where to start looking for agencies/companies for design work...

I've been working in a creative agency for the past 5 years in London as a graphics generalist - motion graphics, branding etc and now I'm looking for a fresh 'sunnier' challenge!

If anyone has any advice or pointers I would really appreciate it ! Please check out my work.... dylanlategan.com

Lots of mograph work here in SF! Bonfire Labs, Mekanism, Westernized, Elastic Creative, Adobe, Google (sometimes, if you're lucky), WCG, Spy Post, Propane Studios, those are a few that I can name off the top of my head. Theres a ton of smaller studios scattered about the city. The majority of the ones I've mentioned are located in SOMA, thats South Of MArket street between 8th street to embarcadero. Living in "The City" is extremely pricey, and you may be better off looking for housing across either bridge and commuting in. Look for locations close to BART, CalTrain, or MUNI stations. Try out LiveLovely.com for an idea of places to move to. If you're looking across the bridge to the "east bay" or Oakland, I would suggest being closer to the hills, or closer to the water, as crime is a bit higher there. In the city stay out of the Tenderloin area (roughly between Gough street and Taylor street and Geary street to Market Street). There was a great apartment hunting website with a map view that was specific to SF and gave a summary of all the different districts and the pros and cons to them, but I cant find it now for the life of me. Maybe someone else out there knows what I'm talking about. It was a relatively new start-up website with a web 2.0 look to it.

Anyway, hope that helps!