Sign in to follow this  
baynoise

Mograph + Bikes

Been riding bmx for the past 15 years and during the good months in Chicago I try to ride a Surly Steamroller as much as I can. How's cycling in NY? It seems crazy but with a lot of the dense streets in BK it seems like it might not be so bad.

Awesome. I've been riding BMX for about 15 years as well! Though to be honest the last four years I really haven't. It's one of my goals this year to get back into it. Riding in NYC is pretty entertaining. Every time you ride to work it feels like you're at war with the world. I just started to get into road biking. It's a total 180 from BMX but it's been great to get away from the computer. Speaking of Chicago. I'll take Chicago pizza over the **** in NYC any day!

I did cycle couriering (in some places I think it's referred to as messaging) for about 7 years before switching over to motion graphics.

There does seem to be a loose link between peoples interest in cycling and motion graphics. Maybe the motion of the world rushing past us on a bike connects with the motion of the graphics. I dunno. Maybe it's because many of us are just big kids.

I love motorcycles! I still don't have a licence. I did ride a motorcycle from Thailand to Burma one time though. I even had some crappy Thai weed in my bag and crossed through a bunch of military check points. Reckless.

That's awesome you come from bmx. I know how it is when it starts to play less of a role in your day to day. It's a bummer but hey such is life. At least we have all those rad memories.

As for city cycling I know what you mean. Back in Florida I loved cycling to work and long distance rides. But here in the city it is such a shit show it takes 100% concentration to just not get killed.

The wife and I are actually looking at moving to NY in the next year. If so, Im definitely excited about cruising the NYC streets. Fuck doing tricks I just want to roam the streets on the bmx bike and enjoy it.