Sign in to follow this  
annalord

Dynamics Optimization- collision with 8000 objects Cinema 4D

I am currently working on a scene with a planet that has 8000 small objects orbiting it. I have attempted to set up the scene is as simple a way as possible, the planet is simply a sphere tagged as a collider with an attractor inside it, the 8,000 orbiting objects are created using a cloner with a flat plane inside it tagged as a rigid body. To get the desired pace I have slowed the project dynamics speed down to 0.2%.

Everything is working BUT is agonizingly slow, almost impossible to work with in any reasonable way. I am working on a brand new macbook pro retina, 16gb ram, quad core etc everything maxed out and although this is obviously not as much of a workhorse as a mac pro, I imagine there must be some way for me to optimize my project to make it more manageable

Since the project operates at only 0.2% speed, a ton of calculations must be done just to get it do the point I am interested in showing, ie. all of the flat planes must collide with the planet violently, bounce off, then come back to the attractor which at 0.2% takes a couple thousand frames, I don't have to render all those, but so far I have had to calculate the dynamics for those frames into the cache even though the part I am actually interested in making a final render of is 6000 frames deep. Am I correct that this must be done this way? Perhaps I could start the project off at 100% speed, then keyframe it to 0.2% once everything has collided and the dust has settled so to speak (the part of the motion I am interested in rendering). Right now for 7,000 frames my cache is 25 gb which seems insanely massive and unwieldy.