Sign in to follow this  
chizmniz

Multi layer OpenExr in C4D

Hey all,

So I have been trying to do some research on the .exr format and have been unable to find any info on the possiblity of having multilayer exrs output out of cinema. Anyone have any news? Is Cinema even considering doing something like this? I know rpf and rla will retain most of the data that openexr does but would like to know if this would be another viable option in the near future.

Also I have been considering moving back to 3ds lately and am wondering. Anyone here use 3ds for daily mographing work? Any comments pros cons?

Thanks all

Chad

hey man -- you should just the multilayer file checkbox checked and it should be good to go.

Just out of curiosity, what are you doing with exr's. I have some experience with this and you can pm me or im at free_ed@mac.com if you want

The actual openexr format is yes but it still renders multiple files. Maybe I am approaching it wrong?

Make sure you are choosing the regular OpenEXR and not the Quicktime OpenEXR thing which sometimes can be confusing. But I've done it multilayer and used it with broken out layers in Nuke a good handful of times now. Works well. I wish it had a few changes like being able to name the passes and what not. But it does work.

I turned off the main diffuse pass and just rendered through the multi pass and it worked. I had no idea you could render your main beauty through the multi pass.

Very cool