Sign in to follow this  
simonfarussell

Back up solutions for a freelancer

As mentioned in the title I'm a freelancer so need to back up my own and some client projects plus my own assets. I probably have about 4-6TB of this data.

I currently use a Time Machine 2TB drive plus a few of other lacie rugged drives to back my stuff up on. It works ok but isn't an ideal solution as it's a bit messy. Just wondering how other people did it and what you found worked. And ideally I'm after a reasonably cost effective system!

I use a synology 413J, with 6tb, works well. Then I have a old imac which uses chronosync to take my client data onto a 2tb fw drive connected to the imac which has backblaze backups to 'the cloud'. Also use dropbox pro for all live jobs other than proxy renders, which has 'packrat' enabled which gives me unlimited access to deleted files......some would say i'm paranoid

I have this sitting beside my computer: Seagate Backup Plus 4tb. 4tb of external space, cost me ~$130 on sale. Backs up every night using SyncBack Free. I looked into going the NAS route, but if all you need is a few terabytes, plain external drives are just so damn cost effective.

Anything current that I'm working on is in my SkyDrive folder (25gb).

After a job is done we either burn the entire project directory to 2 Blu-ray disc clones or 2 hard drives, if its a larger project. One clone is stored at the office, the other at home. The practice of burning to Blu-rays will inevitably need to be replaced when they start getting phased out, but for now its a reliable, cost-effective solution. If something disastrous happens, you lose a project instead of all projects as would happen with a raid array. We had a raid 5 controller pop after a power surge and lost everything. All data was corrupt. I will never use anything other than a raid 10 or raid 1 from now on.

Also, I throw up all master final renders onto Amazon Glacier.