Sign in to follow this  
xiaoali

Feedback on my First Professional Reel

Hey guys,

Would love some feedback on my first professional reel. I haven't cut one since I graduated all the way back in '07.

I've gotten a lot of good feedback from friends. Some of you guys set standards in the industry. So I'd love to know if there is anything I can maybe try or do better for next time too.

Thanks!

A few screens from it:

e3383470f3f585173acaea9836dd8810.jpg

cdd9f1840445ae5720ab8d5dde69dc3b.jpg

3605c0badead50222ef7771842fcf41e.jpg

75bddfb84d187e8ebfca7d47ec0d2d43.jpg

Cutting a reel with 5 years of new stuff has to feel good. That said, there are some things you can certainly work on.

Firstly, I think a lot of the standard advice applies here, namely that if you cut 1/3 or 1/2 of what you have, you'll end up with a tighter more appealing presentation. You have some good stuff, and some stuff that's... not as good. You don't want to show every project, you just want to show the best projects. And of those projects, you just show the best parts. Cut each shot as tightly as possible. Trim absolutely as much fat as you can. Use each shot only as much as it needs to be used to propel the edit forward. Keep the thing moving. If you're making a montage that only lasts 45 seconds, 10 frames of boring stuff is 10 frames too many.