Sign in to follow this  
froj

"C4D Scene Speed" Article. TONS of Workflow Tips

If you think C4D's viewport is THAT slow, then please read this first and try and help yourself out. Over the last few years, in between cursing and sending feature requests to Maxon I've forced myself to learn to embrace, understand and workaround what at first seems like a lot of toys that you can't play with at the same time. After realising most users don't even use layers, I decided to spend a few days putting this together as a resource - so hopefully some won't have to go through the same issues as I did!

I'm no programmer so this is 9 pages of practical layman's information, calculation explanations, proxy setup, layers, new xpresso nodes. There's a lot of stuff!

https://matt-frodsham.squarespace.com/c4d-scene-speed

Please let me know what you think, please don't hesitate to send me any corrections or extra info and I'll add it!

Cheers, Matt

Thanks for taking the time to post that. It helped a lot. I've been using layers for a while to help isolate stuff, just not turning off Generators and stuff, that made a pretty big difference.

The "Render Instances" in the cloner is what killed me on my last project, they were being effected by effectors individually, so I couldn't turn that on, but when I did it helped a lot too.

What's the deal with turning off the "All Frames" option in the Playback settings? It helps speed things up by not trying to load all the frames at once?

One other thing I noticed with the Level of detail. In the Options menu you only have Low, Med, or High . But if you go into Project Settings, you have control from 0% to 100%, which can give you more control if you need it.

Thanks for taking the time to post that. It helped a lot. I've been using layers for a while to help isolate stuff, just not turning off Generators and stuff, that made a pretty big difference.