Sign in to follow this  
CyanSeaHorse

MAX to C4D

Hey guys,

This is probably a simple question but here goes:

The station I work for has had its redesign done by an agency who supplied me the logo in MAX format. The problem is that I use C4D (and AE with element3D).

Should I:

A: Download and install a trial of 3ds max, open and export the files to OBJ (is it possible?) ?

B: Ask someone who has 3ds max to export the files for me?

C: Give up and redesign it myself in C4D (its only an extruded helvetica font, 3 basic colors and simple shading as far as I can see. But I'm pretty new to materials etc and i'd probably have to tinker quite a bit to achieve the same shading... see screenshot)

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated,

Cheers!

Screen_Shot_2013_11_15_at_10_12_42_AM.pn

Hey there -- As far as I know all versions of cinema open 3DS files but have not done it in a while so not sure how well a max material would come across into cinema. There are two options that I would try and that includes downloading the trial of MAX. If this is a station (assuming news or something like that) what do they generally work in. If its a C4D based environment, then it would be pretty useful to try to get what you can out of MAX and then rebuild based on that. This way you have your materials and all in a familiar package. If the station mostly uses MAX, then you can either rebuild, or actually bring your logo into C4D and then do your camera work, take that into MAX and render from there. Guess it really depends on what you need to do with it.

I have worked with a few MAX animators over the years, and as I recall we had the most luck having them export .FBX files for import into Cinema 4D. I haven't tried a 3ds import with R15; has it been improved? I have usually been able to bring in models that way, but textures often don't come through correctly, and there's often geometry weirdness.