Sign in to follow this  
Basic

Hourly Rate - Daily Rate / Monthly Rate - Freelance

Hey Guys.

Just a quick question on how you would answer this. I've just relocated to Australia and I keep getting asked what my rates are in this format. It may be a standard freelance format but I am new to it.

I am not asking how much I should charge I am asking what format I put it in.

So say for Example I charge $50ph so for a 8 hour day I would get paid $400 per day... so if I multiple that by say 20 days in a given month I get $8000.

This is just an example. I don't make 8k a month, but I am open to offers ;)

Cheers

Liam

Start viewing the day rate as your new standard. Also figure your day to be 10 hours at the minimum, not 8.

If being asked day vs month rates, its likely because they are looking for a break on a month commitment. How much to discount there is on you.

Edited by AromaKat

Off-topic, but sort of related. Where the fuck does this '10 hour day' come from? I believe I've asked this before.

I'm curious as to where the origin of a freelancer day is 10 hours. Does this apply in other areas of freelance? i.e. business, accounting, construction, etc.

Also does this 10 hour rule apply in other countries?

Off-topic, but sort of related. Where the fuck does this '10 hour day' come from? I believe I've asked this before.

I'm curious as to where the origin of a freelancer day is 10 hours. Does this apply in other areas of freelance? i.e. business, accounting, construction, etc.

Also does this 10 hour rule apply in other countries?

It's nonsense.

I suppose it comes from the shooting day length.. but 10 hours in front of a computer screen is for freelancers without the experience and confidence call BS and demand overtime.

but 10 hours in front of a computer screen is for freelancers without the experience and confidence call BS and demand overtime.

Well, good luck with that. Overtime is an employee thing.