Sign in to follow this  
FlipSwitch

need advise on email blasts to clients

so im a mograpger freelancer here in NYC... i sent an email with 68 adresses to let people know I need to book time... anyway i send the email and i get a response that some emails arent valid but some are... i got a few responses but i also got told that someone didnt recieve the email... is the a certain protocole to send a balst out that doesnt automatically get sent into there spam email or not sent at all... can anyway recommend someone that can help me with an email blast that people will ecieve.. someone who specializes in this.... im afraid people arent recieving them and im loosing out on work

A service like MailChimp.com or ConstantContact.com are designed for email blasts that keep you in compliance with spam laws, etc. They also give you analytics on exactly who has read them, who clicked a link you had in there, etc. Its a beautiful thing.

If you are web savvy enough, and manage your own site / server, you can use http://sendy.co/. Its the exact same thing as the above services, but runs off your server and uses the Amazon SES service to dish the emails out.

Unfortunately, if just a couple of people hit that 'report spam' button, email clients like yahoo, gmail, etc just start automatically flagging it as spam for everyone else in the system. There is nothing you can do about that except offer an 'unsubscribe' link at the top and bottom of your marketing emails in hopes people click that instead of the spam button. I think the email systems give you a bit more leeway if you have that link there as well. Because of this, its best to use an email address specifically for your marketing blasts that is separate from your usual day-to-day emails so that your regular emails don't get sent to the trash as well.

You don't need to hire anyone. Mail Chimp and Constant Contact are both extremely easy to use. When you don't feel like paying them anymore, upgrade to Sendy.