Sign in to follow this  
abraddock

Introduction via my Reel for 2015 - Alex Braddock

Hello all,

I'm very new here, and new to the community in general. I wanted to post my reel, to see what people thought, understand where I'm coming from, but also use it as a chance to introduce my self. I'll post it now, so and blab afterwards:

A little about me: I studied film and video production in college, with every intention of being an editor, and down the line becoming a director. When I graduated, I had a rough time finding a job in the area I lived, and would spend half of my day sending out resumes, and the other half trying to learn something that would give me an edge: AE and C4D. I had used the programs in school, but there were no classes offered in the mograph world, nor animation(in the film department), so I had always been self taught.

Fastforward, I've now been working about 3 years in the MoGraph industry for the same tiny studio, constantly trying to throw in freelance where I can to offset the tedium of the "tech explainer videos" I make daily.

I would love any thoughts you have on how the reel is structured, the content of the reel, and to just to get to know people in this community. I just finished Binky's series on building a reel, and I already have a feeling mine breaks a couple rules (especially length). Speaking of length, I'll stop talking now. Cheers!

-Alex

Edited by abraddock

Hello! Welcome to mograph, although I feel a bit silly saying that, as I haven't posted here in a while...

You are right about the length, reels need to be short not only to hold the viewers attention through to the end, but so that you've only selected the very best of your work to show. It appears on the face of it that you've put in a bunch of clips from your projects, then halfway through just decided to repeat it all and include very similar clips from the same projects.