Sign in to follow this  
nusferatu

New Computer

hello guys I need a bit of advice regarding the specs of a possible new computer, here is the specs.

I am a motion designer, so lots of render time, also I am learning arnold and x particles ......

Case: CORSAIR CARBIDE SERIESTM 200R COMPACT GAMING CASE
Processor : Intel® Xeon® 6-Core E5-2620V3 (2.4GHz, 8.00 GT/s, 15M L3 Cache)
Motherboard: ASUS® X99-A: ATX, HSW-E CPU, USB 3.0, SATA 6 GB/s
Memory : 32GB HyperX FURY DDR4 2133MHz (4 x 8GB)
Graphic card : 12GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX TITAN X - DVI, HDMI, 3 X DP
!st HD :1TB 3.5" SATA-III 6GB/s HDD 7200RPM 32MB CACHE
2nd HD : 4TB 3.5" SATA-III 6GB/s HDD 5900RPM 64MB CACHE
What do you think?
Cheers
Edited by nusferatu

why teh xeon? unless you are getting dual, just get an i7. it will be faster and cheaper.

also if you are putting such hardcore components in your computer, get atleast a corsair 500R case. that 200R thing is tiny... gonna be a lot of heat, poor airflow, and you'd gonna kill yourself trying to fit it all in.

also titan might not fit in there..

i personally prefer faster clock speed on cpu, so faster viewport response and then final renders go to cloud render farm.

with that 2.4ghz your viewport is gonna super slow.

http://ace5studios.com/hardware/

Edited by vozzz

Unless you are GPU rendering and need the vram, there is no need for a Titan X 12GB. A 6GB 980ti will be just as fast in AE/C4D and save you $350.

If you need 8 or less cores, just get an i7. No need for Xeons, and they can't be OC'd as far as i7s.

Get at least 1 SSD (500GB) for your system drive, if not more for footage etc. Get at least 7200 rpm drives unless it is for backups only.

Check out pcpartpicker.com for more feedback on cases, etc.

I agree that a high clock cpu is more important than the number of cores. Something to note, though... Once AE starts using additional cores for rendering, xeons & cpu count will be a concern again.