Sign in to follow this  
Guest vectorsnob

composition/render setup

Guest vectorsnob

Here's a seemingly simple question. What composition/render settings have you found that produce the nicest results for NTSC motion graphics? For instance, do you create your After Effects comp at 23.976fps and render with 3:2 Pulldown?

Believe it or not, I'm not a newbie and I'm not asking for the magic "make my work look good" button. I have my specific workflow, I'm just curious to see what others are doing to achieve "their look." Work from those top motion graphics houses (Psyop, MK12, blahblahblah) just have this crisp feel to them, without looking like video. Perhaps they are printing to film? Working at a much higher resolution? Any ideas?

I realise this is all relative...And probably a pretty pointless question. But thanks anyway.

Guest igorschmigor

Hi Robot!

That's an interesting theory, about working at film setup and then using 3:2 pulldown. All you need to test your theory is try it out. I will try it. I guess it will help bring a little bit of that "movie-shot-for-cinema"-look.

But i doubt, that they really do that. It doesn't really increase quality, the real frame rate is lower, plus some frames will have real bad interlacing.

The only "make-it-look-better-button" i know is motion blur. I love motion blur. But apart from that i have no idea.

Working at a higher resolution might be worth trying too. But the computers at University already run slow with complex AfterEffects scenes, so that will really make work hard for me. MK12 sure work at a much higher resolution than the one i'm viewing them at because i've only seen their work on the web. I mean, the MK12-vids on the net are 280x206 Pixels, that's definately not the resolution they worked at.

Timmy, are you going to let us know the secret that makes your work so crispy?

Guest jez