Sign in to follow this  
Guest Scorch

Extrudeing paths Cinema 4D

Guest Scorch

Hi,

I'm trying to extrude various paths I've designed in illustrator in Cinema 4D. The problem I've got is that if for example I've got a ring with one circle inside another, the extrude tool only extrudes the outer ring, meaning I've just got a cylinder when I want a cylinder with a hole in it. I'm a complete novice when it comes to 3D (& indeed 4D!) so apologies if this is dumb. Do I need to use boolean something-or-other...I really have no idea and can't find a tutorial..

Thank you

Guest the_Monkey

Depends on the shape of the spline and whether you are using just one spline.

Do your splines cross? They can sometimes cause unpredictable results (although it can be done).

Curves with a uniform number of points behave better than those that don't.

Booleans only work on Polygon objects. If worse came to worse, and you couldn't figure it out I would just build the ring in a second extrude object. No rules broken there.

-m

Guest TimC

Booleans only work on Polygon objects.

This is actually incorrect. Try using an extrude NURBs and a loft NURBs in a boolean and it will work.

cheers

Tim

p.s. (@ scorch) you can change your preferences to automatically group and connect your imported illustrator paths. Also to connect objects, they don't need to be grouped under a null, you can just multi select them and then run the connect command. (you used to have to group them in older versions)

Guest mikeh64

since you're digging in to extruding illustrator splines in C4D, I'll answer one of your next questions before you actually have it...

Q. I have several separate splines (like a logo) and I want to extrude all of them together, but only one gets extruded...

A. there is a check box in the extrude nurbs object called "hierarchical" - this will extrude all child splines (no need to connect them)