• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Basic

Basic

MoGraph Megastar

• Members
  • 235 posts

Posted 05 June 2017 - 10:42 PM

Anyone considering or too little too late?

https://www.apple.com/au/imac-pro/specs/ 

I've heard of issues with over heating with the late 2014 models. I wonder if this has been addressed?

Who is it actually aimed at? 3D?

#2 ianfreeze

ianfreeze

MoGraph Demi-god

• Members
  • 435 posts
  • Interests:cheating death

Posted 06 June 2017 - 12:44 AM

Not considering this one, per se, however it does give me hope. The fact that they're willing to drop an 18 core proc into an iMac makes me wonder what they'll throw in the future Mac Pro. Theres real hope that I won't have to move to Windows after all...

#3 Basic

Basic

MoGraph Megastar

• Members
  • 235 posts

Posted 06 June 2017 - 01:55 AM

Yeah I know what you mean. I have been holding out for 3 years now and ive read that much on windows i'm very tempted. In saying that though i'd like to hear some tests when they come through. I've got the original 5k iMac and although great for what I want will soon start to slow down. 

Holding out for the Mac Pro?

#4 scott frizzle

scott frizzle

MoGraph Demi-god

• Members
  • 582 posts

Posted 06 June 2017 - 05:07 PM

I agree that the revamped iMacs are more of a sign of hope than a truly professional solution for high end users.  As stated above, if they are willing to go that far with the iMac Pro, then the next Mac Pro *should* be the animal we've all wanted it to be for years. I'm very reluctant to switch to Windows but certainly not against it, especially considering my late 2013 Mac Pro is now seriously outclassed by any new Windows workstation.  I already feel like I've waited too long so it's probably 50-50 odds that I get a serious Windows workstation as a hedge, and see what happens with Apple over the next year or two.