Jump to content


Photo

How to Loop Cloth


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 tcastudios

tcastudios

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 548 posts

Posted 03 June 2008 - 12:51 PM

A 8 min tut on how to loop clothilde using a basic flag example.

http://tcastudios.com -> tutorials

Excuse the sound, it's done straight into the laptop. My studio
is still on the road.
It also shows the nerve-wrecking stop issue.....


EDIT. I can't count really:) everything 6 is 3seconds....

Cheers
Lennart

Edited by tcastudios, 29 March 2012 - 07:27 PM.

R14+ | OSX | xfiles Cinema4D Tools

#2 ChrisC

ChrisC

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 549 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brighton, UK

Posted 03 June 2008 - 01:43 PM

Magic! That was like a suspense movie. Looping cloth... how the... he must be...? Then - ahhh! - all is revealed

I once spent an afternoon trawling through animations frame by frame to find a good spot to cross fade cloth in AE, never looked quite right, this would have been perfecto.

Don't worry about the 6s, just pretend you live in an obscure country that uses 12.5 fps. No-one will notice ;-)

#3 Kastro

Kastro

    MoGraph Superstar

  • Members
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South FL

Posted 03 June 2008 - 01:48 PM

Thanks for creating it :)

Edited by Kastro, 03 June 2008 - 02:03 PM.


#4 the_Monkey

the_Monkey

    simian

  • Members
  • 2,011 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brooklyn, NY

Posted 03 June 2008 - 02:39 PM

Nice one Lennart.
That's a clever solution to a slew of other imaginable problems as well.
Thanks for sharing.

:)

-m

Edited by the_Monkey, 03 June 2008 - 02:39 PM.


#5 triplej96

triplej96

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 17 June 2008 - 06:55 PM

That link isn't working for me.

Nice one Lennart.
That's a clever solution to a slew of other imaginable problems as well.
Thanks for sharing.

:)

-m



#6 the_Monkey

the_Monkey

    simian

  • Members
  • 2,011 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brooklyn, NY

Posted 17 June 2008 - 07:46 PM

That link isn't working for me.

Just tried it. Works for me.

-m

#7 tcastudios

tcastudios

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 548 posts

Posted 17 June 2008 - 07:49 PM

I've changed the link.
It looks as a (hopefully) temporal hickup with the redirecting.

Cheers
Lennart

// And temporal it was... it must have been something happening at my provider side.

Edited by tcastudios, 17 June 2008 - 07:51 PM.

R14+ | OSX | xfiles Cinema4D Tools

#8 triplej96

triplej96

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 18 June 2008 - 03:45 AM

thanks!

I've changed the link.
It looks as a (hopefully) temporal hickup with the redirecting.

Cheers
Lennart

// And temporal it was... it must have been something happening at my provider side.



#9 fernan!

fernan!

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 June 2008 - 04:41 AM

anyone know how to do that in blender?

#10 the_Monkey

the_Monkey

    simian

  • Members
  • 2,011 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brooklyn, NY

Posted 01 July 2008 - 06:03 PM

Posted Image

This is not cloth but it's using the same method in Lennart's tutorial.
The fish was built with bones, constraints and CS_Tools and then Point Cached. The Point Cached objects were then blended with a PoseMixer to yield a seamlessly looping fish.

I'm currently trying to figure out a method for looping hair animations. I'll post what I learn when I figure it out... unless Lennart figures it out first (ooo... sounds like a dare, huh?)

:)

-m

#11 tcastudios

tcastudios

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 548 posts

Posted 01 July 2008 - 06:25 PM

Cool!
I'm a complete waste when it comes to Hair... but isn't there a Haircache thingy as well?
If so the workflow should be the same.

Cheers
Lennart
R14+ | OSX | xfiles Cinema4D Tools

#12 shinjin

shinjin

    MoGraph Megastar

  • Members
  • 207 posts
  • Location:munich

Posted 04 July 2008 - 11:14 AM

Great technique, should indeed come in handy in a few other situations.

Thanks for sharing.

#13 lumaform

lumaform

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC

Posted 06 July 2008 - 05:07 AM

Wow, thank you for your generosity. This is an invaluable tutorial; not to mention it's a video.

#14 tcastudios

tcastudios

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 548 posts

Posted 03 October 2009 - 10:26 PM

Apparently the PoseMixer in R11.5 is on lunch..

Temporarily have a go at this simplified two way PointMixer.
Comes as a COFFEE Tag, should of coarse be
placed on a PointObject and is driven by two
( A & B ) other Point Objects that are point animated
or cached.

Simple PointMixer

Cheers
Lennart

Edited by tcastudios, 03 October 2009 - 10:27 PM.

R14+ | OSX | xfiles Cinema4D Tools

#15 jandrew

jandrew

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted 20 December 2009 - 11:23 AM

Lennart,
incredible...thank you so much for that "point Object". I struggled with the silly posemixer for an hour and couldn't figure out why it wasn't working.

/j
_____________________
Jan A.K.A rkive9

#16 tcastudios

tcastudios

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 548 posts

Posted 20 December 2009 - 01:55 PM

The PoseMixer should be working again now in R11.528.

Cheers
Lennart
R14+ | OSX | xfiles Cinema4D Tools

#17 tcastudios

tcastudios

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 548 posts

Posted 20 June 2010 - 05:56 PM

I'm currently trying to figure out a method for looping hair animations. I'll post what I learn when I figure it out... unless Lennart figures it out first (ooo... sounds like a dare, huh?)
:)
-m


I think we still need to go via PLA for this,
as we can't use a cache offset (even not with a PointCache
as it doesn't work for spline objects afaik).

Please have a look at this basic example:

SplineLoopTut 14mb QT

Cheers
Lennart
R14+ | OSX | xfiles Cinema4D Tools

#18 tcastudios

tcastudios

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 548 posts

Posted 21 June 2010 - 01:26 AM

Hm, Loop Hair. While possible it's not trivial as far as
I can see.
Thanks to no cache offset it looks as if PLA baking is the option at hand.
In rough terms, use a MoSpline with the Hair Object as source.
Then run a script to make a editable version of the MoSpline and
read the PLA values for each frame while baking it.

And then do the PLA looping described earlier.

An addition option is then to re-bake the sweepNurb to a
PLA baked polygon object, run a PointCache on that.
This way the animation can be slowed down -much- more
thanks to the PointCache's higher subframing.

A couple of first tests (loops are perfect but playback with H264 is not).
HairToPLA 9mb QT
HairToPLA02 7mb QT
Posted Image

Cheers
Lennart
R14+ | OSX | xfiles Cinema4D Tools

#19 the_Monkey

the_Monkey

    simian

  • Members
  • 2,011 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brooklyn, NY

Posted 21 June 2010 - 04:57 PM

That's the sound of.... RESURRECTION!!!

(cue zombies)

What happened Lennart?
Couldn't sleep?

;)

Of course you had to do this right as I went back to work today.
I've been farting around with experiments for the last 2 weeks and was looking for something new.
Can't wait to get a second to go through what you got.

-m

#20 tcastudios

tcastudios

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 548 posts

Posted 21 June 2010 - 05:19 PM

Muha-ha-ha-boo!

I got reminded by a question of looping spline dynamics.
But to be honest, as it isn't as easy as the cache solution,
I'd say it would need a specific task to be worth it.

-m, do you have any idea for what it could be used other than
wobbling fur or sea grass? Both that might be easier using
regular deformers and such.

Cheers
Lennart
R14+ | OSX | xfiles Cinema4D Tools




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users