Jump to content


Photo

Throttle


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 milkshake

milkshake

    MoGraph Regular

  • Members
  • 90 posts
  • Location:New York City

Posted 14 August 2008 - 10:29 PM

Thought you guys might be interest to know that I updated my Throttle script to support updating the number of processes used with Multi-Processing but more importantly to set the preference that keeps After Effects rendering the Comp frame when you switch to another app. You know what I am talking about, you have an expensive frame that takes a while to render, so you switch to a web browser to check your email, then after 10mins you switch back to realize that no rendering has happened, we'll if you are running the latest 8.0.2 update you can change that behavior with Throttle.

You can get Throttle here: http://aescripts.com...13/throttle-11/

-Lloyd

Edited by milkshake, 12 September 2008 - 04:01 PM.


#2 daveglanz

daveglanz

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 755 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chevy Chase, MD
  • Interests:wife, daughter, movies, floppy-eared dogs, coffee

Posted 15 August 2008 - 04:02 AM

Thanks! I've found a few of your scripts helpful.

#3 imcalledandy

imcalledandy

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 457 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 15 August 2008 - 10:37 AM

Thanks very much - your scripts are very useful!

Edited by imcalledandy, 15 August 2008 - 10:37 AM.


#4 a2visual

a2visual

    Mograph Deity

  • Members
  • 984 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 August 2008 - 02:20 AM

As a new owner of a Mac Pro 8 core, this will come in handy. Thanks a lot!

#5 raven52321

raven52321

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 602 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NYC

Posted 16 August 2008 - 12:05 PM

keeps After Effects rendering the Comp frame when you switch to another app


Doesn't AE always do this automatically? I'm constantly doing other stuff while a frame is rendering- jumping to photoshop, illustrator, firefox. Never had this problem.

You can also set the amount of processors to use in the task manager- select AfterFX.exe and right click, "Set Affinity."

#6 a2visual

a2visual

    Mograph Deity

  • Members
  • 984 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 August 2008 - 12:41 PM

Doesn't AE always do this automatically? I'm constantly doing other stuff while a frame is rendering- jumping to photoshop, illustrator, firefox. Never had this problem.

You can also set the amount of processors to use in the task manager- select AfterFX.exe and right click, "Set Affinity."


It seems AE is erratic when it comes to this. Sometimes it'll keep rendering, but I've definitely had times where it would stop when I switched to another app.

#7 thomwill

thomwill

    MoGraph Megastar

  • Members
  • 371 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 August 2008 - 01:01 PM

never had this problem either. have to remember this if it ever comes up.

#8 graymachine

graymachine

    Red Giant Software

  • Members
  • 10,057 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland
  • Interests:0s, 1s, pixels and particles.

Posted 16 August 2008 - 01:06 PM

From my experience, a RAM preview will keep going but a parked frame will not render.

Typically, I hit "B" to pull the preview range to my current frame, hit "0" on the keypad to start rendering that frame, then continue to surf porn mograph.

Harry Frank // graymachine.com


#9 raven52321

raven52321

    MoGraph Demi-god

  • Members
  • 602 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NYC

Posted 17 August 2008 - 01:07 AM

From my experience, a RAM preview will keep going but a parked frame will not render.


Just tried this with a parked frame- and it rendered fine.

#10 oeuf

oeuf

    MoGraph Megastar

  • Members
  • 398 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 August 2008 - 02:57 AM

On my Windows machine at home, a parked frame will render if switched to another app, on my Mac at work it doesn't. This script comes in handy as well as some of your other stuff. Thanks and keep them coming!

#11 mjoshua

mjoshua

    MoGraph Superstar

  • Members
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Red Lion, PA

Posted 23 April 2009 - 08:07 PM

I'll try it out.

#12 silatix

silatix

    Eats, sleeps, drinks MoGraph

  • Members
  • 1,504 posts
  • Location:brooklyn
  • Interests:mographary

Posted 24 April 2009 - 08:55 PM

Really?

I'll try it out.


it's like theres a party in my mouth, and everyone's vomiting




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users