• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 animatrix

animatrix

MoGraph Regular

• Members
  • 78 posts

Posted 22 March 2009 - 12:57 AM

I'm pretty new in C4D and hoping somebody can help me out. Let's say I created a bunch of cubes using mograph cloner object.
Is it possible to map those cloned cubes onto an extruded text or object and how?

Edited by animatrix, 22 March 2009 - 12:58 AM.

#2 Albert Omoss

Albert Omoss

MoGraph Megastar

• Members
  • 307 posts

Posted 22 March 2009 - 01:26 AM

The C4D help is very...uhm...helpful.

Yes it's possible. Cloners have 4 different modes: Linear, Radial, Grid Array, or Object. The setting you are looking for is Object. You can also fill the space inside an object with clones by using a Volume Effector.

Edited by Albert Omoss, 22 March 2009 - 01:29 AM.

#3 animatrix

animatrix

MoGraph Regular

• Members
  • 78 posts

Posted 22 March 2009 - 03:14 AM

The C4D help is very...uhm...helpful.

Yes it's possible. Cloners have 4 different modes: Linear, Radial, Grid Array, or Object. The setting you are looking for is Object. You can also fill the space inside an object with clones by using a Volume Effector.

I understand the object mode, but I'm still not seeing anything. Ok, b4 I even get to the volume effector, I used the mograph text object to bring in some texts.
Do I need to convert this to polygon first or leave as is? I left it as it was and drag text object onto the Cloner object in the attributes panel below, but nothing.

#4 Albert Omoss

Albert Omoss

MoGraph Megastar

• Members
  • 307 posts

Posted 22 March 2009 - 03:39 AM

Yes, the object must be polygonal to act as a cloner object. Mograph text objects are NURBS and must be converted to polygons for use with a cloner.

#5 animatrix

animatrix

MoGraph Regular

• Members
  • 78 posts

Posted 22 March 2009 - 03:41 PM